The Cauldron: A Pagan Forum (Archive Board)
May 26, 2022, 10:32:36 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: This is our Read Only Archive Board (closed to posting July 2011). Join our new vBulletin board!
 
  Portal   Forum   Help Rules Search Chat (Mux) Articles Login Register   *

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 26, 2022, 10:32:36 pm

Login with username, password and session length
Donate!
The Cauldron's server is expensive and requires monthly payments. Please become a Bronze, Silver or Gold Donor if you can. Donations are needed every month. Without member support, we can't afford the server.
TC Staff
Important Information about this Archive Board
This message board is The Cauldron: A Pagan Forum's SMF Archive Board. It is closed to new memberships and to posting, but there are over 250,000 messages here that you can still search and read -- many full of interesting and useful information. (This board was open from February 2007 through June 2011).

Our new vBulletin discussion board is located at http://www.ecauldron.com/forum/ -- if you would like to participate in discussions like those you see here, please visit our new vBulletin message board, register an account and join in our discussions. We hope you will find the information in this message archive useful and will consider joining us on our new board.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
Author Topic: Priestess of the Forest: A Druid Journey  (Read 2953 times) Average Rating: 0
RandallS
Co-Host
Administrator
Grand Adept Member
*****
Last Login:October 30, 2020, 08:18:05 am
United States United States

Religion: Hellenic Pagan
TCN ID: ADMIN
Posts: 17181


Blog entries (0)


« Topic Start: February 23, 2010, 04:02:32 pm »

Title: Priestess of the Forest: A Druid Journey
(Fiction: Adult)
Author(s): Ellen Evert Hopman
Publisher: Llewellyn Publications
Publication Date: February 1, 2008
ISBN: 0738712620
ISBN-13: 978-0738712628
Current Price and More Info from Amazon

Description:
In the tradition of Marion Zimmer Bradley's Mists of Avalon, Ellen Evert Hopman weaves Druid history and spirituality into an engaging love story. This Bardic teaching tale is set in a fictional third-century Ireland when Christianity is sweeping across the Celtic Isles. During this time of crisis, love blooms between Ethne, a Druid healer, and her patient, a Fennid warrior. Their passionate affair suffers a tragic blow when Ethne is called upon to become the high queen.

Told from the Druid perspective, Hopman recreates the daily life, magical practices, politics, and spiritual lives of the ancient Celts during this historic turning point. Druid holy days, rites, rituals, herbal lore, and more are brought to life in this Celtic fantasy—illuminating Druidic teachings and cultural wisdom.

Special Notes:
none

Legal Notes: Some description text and item pictures in this post may come from Amazon.com and are used by permission. The Cauldron is an Amazon Affiliate and purchases made through the Amazon links in this message help support The Cauldron.



Discussion and reviews of this book are welcome in this thread. If you've read the book, please tell us what you think of it and why.
Logged

Randall
RetroRoleplaying [Blog - Forum] -- Out Of Print & Out Of Style Tabletop Roleplaying Games
Software Gadgets Blog -- Interesting Software, Mostly Free
Cheap Web Hosting -- Find an Affordable Web Host

Welcome, Guest!
You will need to register and/or login to participate in our discussions.

Read our Rules and Policies and the Quoting Guidelines.

Help Fund Our Server? Donate to Lyricfox's Cancer Fund?

Audrey
Senior Newbie
*
Last Login:February 15, 2011, 02:45:29 am
United States United States

Religion: Druid candidate
Posts: 13


Blog entries (0)



Ignore
« Reply #1: August 18, 2010, 05:16:13 pm »


Discussion and reviews of this book are welcome in this thread. If you've read the book, please tell us what you think of it and why.


I realize that this was posted many a month ago, but is one of my favorite books so I thought I would say so.  It is no classic work of literature, but if you want something light and somewhat thought provoking at the same time then it is a great choice.  I just finished reading it's sequel, the Druid Isle, and enjoyed it too although I did not think it was as good as the first. 

So in short is a really great book to read sitting about the fire at night or out in the forest by day.  I loved it.

Audrey
Logged

Donor Ad: Become a Silver or Gold Donor to get your ad here.

Tags:
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Add bookmark  |  Print  
 
Jump to:  
  Portal   Forum   Help Rules Search Chat (Mux) Articles Login Register   *

* Share this topic...
In a forum
(BBCode)
In a site/blog
(HTML)


Related Topics
Subject Started by Replies Views Last post
Voodoo Priestess Estate
Miscellaneous Magical Discussions
Breeze 9 7457 Last post June 16, 2007, 02:44:42 pm
by gayars
Poem -- Tarot in Haiku: The High Priestess
Art, Poetry and Writing
Jorgath 4 3203 Last post June 25, 2007, 09:05:48 am
by Jorgath
My journey so far
Introductions
Sakerra 7 2764 Last post May 05, 2008, 10:48:12 am
by Waldfrau
Portrait of a Priestess: Women and Ritual in Ancient Greece
Academic Book Discussions
LyricFox 0 2527 Last post February 20, 2010, 03:46:32 pm
by LyricFox
The Druid Way: A Journey Through an Ancient Landscape
Pagan Religion Book Discussions
RandallS 2 2870 Last post May 22, 2011, 04:26:08 am
by Waldfrau
EU Cookie Notice: This site uses cookies. By using this site you consent to their use.


Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines
TinyPortal v0.9.8 © Bloc
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.08 seconds with 37 queries.